New Orleans – Pictures from the Rally and March

As promised, here are some pictures from today.

Michael Eric Dyson, who was speaking when I arrived at the pre-March rally.

Judge Greg Mathis [from Detroit], who served as MC of the pre-March rally.

The front section of the pre-March crowd.

Theodore Shaw, President of NAACP Legal Defense Fund

All I can say is oh boy to this sign.

Al Sharpton addressing the pre-March crowd. This was when he chanted “Are y’all ready to march?”

New Orleans Mayor Ray Nagin addressing the pre-March crowd. This audience was very pro-Nagin.

John Legend performing.

The beginning of the march. Off to the right is the Convention Center.


A T-shirt with a message.

Young brother who was pushing his little sister in a stroller across the bridge.

Young activist in training.

As you can see, there were many types of signs.

Jesse & Al at the end of the March. Neither of them wore their walkin’ shoes.

All of the pictures, including some shots with me and the speakers, can be seen on my Flickr site.

Tags: ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora and am a National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I currently live in Washington, DC with my beautiful wife Ellen. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. Today I work at the crossroads of traditional political organizing and online activism. I speak before diverse audiences on empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation though emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet.

2 responses to “New Orleans – Pictures from the Rally and March”

  1. Free says :

    Great pics & commentary. For those of us who can’t be there: Thanks!

    I’m loving the signs – so original & suggesting a “fighting spirit.” Cool.

  2. Garlin II says :

    A photo I took of now re-elected New Orleans Mayor Ray Nagin has been published on page 6 of the Spring 2006 Edition of the California VOTER, the newsletter published quarterly by the League of Women Voters of California.

    The SuperSpade would like to thank the League of Women Voters of California for their support of equal voting rights for women and minorities everywhere, as well as their support of The SuperSpade.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

