The Weekly Dream: Appreciation of Mothers

“In the future, everyone will have 15 minutes of fame.”
-Andy Warhol

Whenever I turn on the television, I am amazed at the proliferation of new reality TV shows. A lot of times, it is just stupid people doing frivolous things. Some are good, but the majority are bad-in my opinion. The human need for attention and recognition is as potent a drug as power or money. If you ever come across a person with an excessive need for validation, be careful because anything you have to offer will never be enough.

Mother knows best…

Yet, there is a group of people who really make a difference. They have made a far greater impact than anyone on TV today. I am talking about mothers. In the book of Proverbs, in the 31st chapter, it describes the perfect, godly woman. She is so great that her children call her blessed. She is known for her care and attention to her household, family, and business affairs. I believe that ideal remains.

To me, mothers are irrefutable evidence that God exists. For years, they give and expect nothing in return. They feed us, nurture us, know everything about us, yet are able to love us anyway.

It is something I do not think I will ever understand. There is nothing we can do to repay our mothers for the infinite sacrifices they have made. However, a thank you and a token of appreciation is a good start. Honor her while she is still in your midst.

And if your mother has journeyed beyond, remembering her and what she meant while she was here is a great way to keep her memory alive.

We should seek to incorporate the spirit, sacrifice and love our mothers showed us into our daily lives. Nurture life in your own little way. God bless all the women who have been maternal figures to myself and others. You truly are appreciated.

Truth and Peace,
Steven M DeVougas

Question of the week: What do you remember most about your mother?

Tags:

2 responses to “The Weekly Dream: Appreciation of Mothers”

  1. Sheila says :

    One thing I remember about my mother is that she loved to party and have a good time, and she always worked hard for me to have nice lifestyle. I have probably inherited her party spirit ;) because I always love to be surrounded by family and friends living it up! As a woman who is a mother-to-be I welcome the thought of joining an elite group of women who make the world better a few children at a time.

  2. Yolanda says :

    What I remember about my mother is that she was dedicated to working hard to provide for me & my siblings. She was and still is always there for her children.

    Congratulations to you Sheila, and have a Happy Mother’s Day.

    y.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

