Impacting the Present Speech

As promised, here is the audio of the speech I gave on Impacting the Present on 3 July 2006. Please leave comments and feedback. Enjoy!

Tags:

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora and am a National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I currently live in Washington, DC with my beautiful wife Ellen. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. Today I work at the crossroads of traditional political organizing and online activism. I speak before diverse audiences on empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation though emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet.

2 responses to “Impacting the Present Speech”

  1. y. says :

    Wow! Absolutely Incredible!
    You opened w/a little light hearted humor(I’m a fan of the humor); which both you & Anon agreed would be a good idea. You held the audience attention, you made them laugh & I’m sure you made them proud to have you in front delivering those very powerful words. You couldn’t have chosen a better verse & african proverb to reference than Ephesians 4:4-6 & It takes a Village to raise a child. Your family,Garlin, has raised
    A TRUE SUPERSPADE! You could definitely hear the unity, and love in that room.
    Thank you for sharing this with us. You are a very Blessed Man born into a very blessed family.
    Fantastic Job!
    Yolanda

  2. Anonymous says :

    It was wonderful to hear a great speech from a young black man delivered in front of a loving family from someone who is not ashamed of sharing their personal experiences with a national audience. Please continue to love and support your family, Garlin, you will be blessed beyond anything that you can ask or think. I, too, enjoyed the humor in your speech we should always find time to laugh at/with ourselves and others. Keep on challenging us to dig deeper and reach higher in our thoughts and actives. It really does start within ourselves and our family who God has gifted each of us with. Keep on encourging others to strive for success and not be afraid to ask others for help, information, or, a shoulder to lead/cry on.(smile)
    With much love and smiles of success.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

