The Weekly Dream: What a Difference a Year Makes

“Hold fast to dreams…”
-Langston Hughes

“If you can dream and not make dreams your master. If you can think and not make thoughts your aim.”
-Rudyard Kipling’s If

This week, the Weekly Dream turns a year old. And man, what a difference a year makes. It began with me wanting to find a way to motivate myself, help others, and leave some sort of legacy for my family, and it has grown to be something much more. I do not know if or how my “rantings” have helped or affected you, but the Weekly Dream has served as the vehicle of documentation for my journey through this thing called life. And by allowing me to share that with you, I feel I have gained a deeper understanding, sensitivity and appreciation for everything I have experienced up to this point.

So I want to say thank you, to everyone who reads the Weekly Dream, who passes it along to friends, who comments and share their reactions to the pieces. Thanks to Garlin and Brandon who let me share their light on the Superspade.

We have come a long way, but there is still more road to travel. I hope that you would continue to read, share your thoughts and also share the articles with others. We have received repeated recognition from blackelectorate.com and there are other plans in the works to expand our audience. If there is a topic you would like to see discussed or if you have any suggestions, please let us know. We constantly seek to improve and set the standard for excellence.

We want everyone to have the courage and the tools to live their dreams. For dreams are the building blocks of the future, and the tools that can make us better individuals.

Truth and Peace,
Steven M DeVougas

Tags:

3 responses to “The Weekly Dream: What a Difference a Year Makes”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Son congratulations on your one year anniversary. I am proud to see how you kept your commitment to writing this article every week for a whole year. I have really enjoyed reading it every week. You have a beautiful spirit. You have become a man that realizes that wisdom is true strength and that you must accept life’s challenge and use them to grow and for that I am grateful.

    May all your dreams come true,

    I love you,

    Mom

  2. Brandon Q. says :

    Steve, the wisdom and insight you have demonstrated through the Weekly Dream has touched thousands of people’s lives in positive ways. And with so much negative news all around us, there are few things more refreshing than to see a young, accomplished Black man tackle the issues in a way that leaves us with hope and not despair.

    For all those reasons and more, I want to say thank you for leading a life of significance and not success. I am humbled at the wealth of wisdom I will see when I read the Weekly Dream (books) 20 and 30+ years from now. You are on the right track my friend. Keep up the good work, this site wouldn’t be the same without you.

    Stay up fam,

  3. Anonymous says :

    Dear Steven,

    I can not believe it’s been a year either. I am a regular reader of your “Weekly Dream” and I deeply touched by your thoughtful words of encouragement and inspiration. Keep up the excellent work.

    Love Lady B.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

