The Soldiers Die Young

I watch most of the “Sunday Morning Political Talk Shows.” The ones I watch are: Meet the Press, The McGlaughlin Group, and Face the Nation. Another show I watch, This Week with George Stephanopoulos, does a weekly segment called In Memoriam, where they list the names of soldiers that died in Iraq over the past week, as released by the Pentagon.

I watch this list every Sunday, and it upsets me for a whole lot of reasons, but here are a few:

We shouldn’t be there in the first d@mn place
For more on this, read these.

October is quickly becoming the deadliest month since we’ve been in Iraq
There have been more deaths this month than any month in the past 2 years.

The people who are dying are so young
Of the 29 names released this past week, 20 were under 25, including 2 18 year olds. That’s only one year older than me! It is absolutely criminal to make cannon fodder out of these young people by placing them into another country’s civil war.

It’s the same every week. A significant percentage of the military deaths have been men and women under the age of 25. I will not even get into the number of Iraqi people that have died.

What does this tell you about our leadership?
Given what we know now about our leadership, would you encourage anyone, young or old, to go fight in Iraq?

One Love. One II.

Categories
Iraq
So called “War on Terror”

Tags:

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora and am a National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I currently live in Washington, DC with my beautiful wife Ellen. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. Today I work at the crossroads of traditional political organizing and online activism. I speak before diverse audiences on empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation though emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

