Senator Barack Obama is running for President!!!

Senator Barack Obama announced his intentions to file presidential exploratory committee and said he would talk announce more details on February 10th. This means that for all intents and purposes, the Senator will be running. I am excited about this campaign because if win or lose, we may be able to realize a paradigm shift for thinking about race, class, and opportunity. I hope that the ensuing debates over his running will spark substantive debate over his proposed policies.

And a note to my Black people:
1) Please don’t decide you like or dislike the Senator because of his identity
2) This is a critical time that we really start to collectively stamp out the crab bucket mentality
3) White people liking Senator Obama does not mean that he is a sell out
4) Read his books, study his voting record, go to his website, and be conscious of what sources are informing your opinion of him
5) Senator Obama is not the leader or spokesperson for all Black people and be critical of people that paint him in this light
6) Pray for the Senator and his family
7) Senator Obama will make mistakes. He is human and therefore fallible. Don’t hold him to unrealistic expectations

Stay up fam,

Categories:
Senator Barack Obama
politics

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Senator Barack Obama is running for President!!!”

  1. The Profit™ says :

    I am independent, and I support Barak Obama for president, but he seems to be running more as a result of people agreeing with him and cheering his charisma instead of him leading them by way of honest persuasion on the foundation of a proactive, well-defined agenda. The premise of his ambition for the presidency wreaks of convenience and may be a recipe for disaster when Obama will need to depend on others to handle foreign policy the way George W. Bush had no choice to do due to a lack of experience on the executive level with regard to foreign trade, economic policy, and handling conflicts that involve military operations.

    The difference between Bush and Obama is that Obama possesses upside, a rarity found in veteran politicians from the state level. Yet, he’s ripening on the global front and is not quite experienced enough to counter the negative consequences of his decisions as it may affect American interests domestic and abroad. I’m sure he has a feel for the severity of the circumstances that require the executive branch’s attention, but I doubt he is prepared to execute in a deliberate manner.

    I’m a self-professed fan of Obama, and I’d love to see him perform on the upside that he has, because it is tremendous. Unlike President Bush, Obama has the gray matter needed to exceed the expectations of his deep capacity for development. Bush never had the capacity and he probably snorted away the gray matter in high school. Unfortunately, at this time, I believe Obama needs more seasoning in the trenches before he can lead this country thoroughly and with authority instead of by committee (don’t confuse that as a call for a dictator). This country needs a strong, wise, diligently prepared president. Obama is strong and wise, but he needs more preparation to effectively perform a job of this magnitude.

    As an independent, I have to vote for the best candidate there is RIGHT NOW. I do place a sneaky bet every now and then, but I can’t gamble here. There hasn’t been anything concrete or comprehensive coming from Obama in terms of how/if he will continue to foster or withdraw the American intervention in the Iraqi civil war (what do you call it?), reorganize Social Security, produce some measure of Health Care for the millions of uninsured (If my Wellpoint goes bankrupt, I’d like my fake Canadian ID card please…), and improving education, amongst other faltering services and federal operations. Clearly, it’s pretty early in the observation of the ’08 race, so I don’t know who will show themselves most capable of “running this shit.” It’ll be an interesting year though.

  2. Ms. Mack says :

    Brandon,

    While I share your enthusiasm for the man, I fear his political death. I think that it is too soon for Obama to run. I am not referring to his inexperience but rather our country’s inability to think outside of the White box. A loss in 2008 may seriously cripple his political career, and rob us of an incredibly brilliant leader.

  3. Anonymous says :

    I agree with Ms. Mack. Any thoughts?

    -ems

  4. Brandon Q. says :

    To the profit, I appreciate your candor. I think it is too early in the campaign season to decry Senator Obama for not having a comprehensive plan for addressing all the major issues that face our times. No major candidate has such a plan so why is it that Senator Obama is the one candidate that has to fulfill this obligation? I say that because I don’t hear the same calls for detailed plans called for any other major candidate for President.

    I think it would be foolhardy for progressives to embrace the same logic as conservatives that say one needs to be an expert in foreign policy before running for President. I know that foreign policy is a major issue facing the country. However, the President of the United States is not President of the world.

    Profit, I would ask that as the campaign develops and candidates are forced to take stances and advance policy agendas, give Obama a chance and not hold him to unrealistic or unfair expectations.

  5. Brandon Q. says :

    Ms. Mack and EMS,

    I did not want to say anything about Senator Obama running until he made a decision to either run or not run. So now that he is running and you don’t want him to right now, what will be your approach to actively supporting his campaign?

    I think that because Senator Obama has so much upside, he is one of the few candidates that can actually win by losing. So I disagree that if he runs and loses, we will lose a great political leader. For real, even if he does lose, do you not think he would win re-election to the Senate?

    My prediction is this, if Obama loses, it will be due to not winning the Democratic nomination. However, if he wins the Dems nod, he will be the next President.

    Either way, Obama’s running is not an all or nothing gamble.

    Stay up fam,

  6. Garlin II says :

    B,

    I don’t think that it makes sense to ask people who are not in favor of Obama’s candidacy what they are going to do to support him. That would be the equivalent of saying, “I don’t like George Bush, and I don’t want him to be President, but I am going to vote for him.”

    Also, I think that what The Profit was saying is that it would show clear differentiation between Obama and other candidates if he did lay out specifics early on. Like you [and I] do not want to accept progressives acting like conservatives and saying that he needs to be an expert. I also think that since we are progressive we should demand that potential candidates cut through the centrist B.S. and start getting real early on.

  7. Brandon Q. says :

    G,

    Thanks for the comment man. My asking what people would do to support him was predicated on the fact that every one who posted a commented stated that they support Barack Obama. Therefore, I disagree with your logic of “I don’t like George Bush, and I don’t want him to be President, but I am going to vote for him.”

    If your logic is applied to Barack Obama, it would read, “I like Barack Obama, I don’t want him to run for President, but I am not going to vote for him.” All I am saying is that there are people who like Barack Obama and don’t want him to run for President and perhaps I was presumptuous, but I feel as if (at least right now) those people liking of Barack Obama would outweigh their not wanting him to run for President. And if this logic is true, I want to know what that measure of support would look like.

    Now it could be that there are people whose not wanting Barack to run outweigh their liking of him, which would rule out actively supporting his campaign.

    Also, I will not let Obama off the hook and I will see to it that he does lay out comprehensive proposals. But here’s the rub, getting involved in his campaign will let his managers know that he can keep it real and still make a credible threat at the White House. We can’t just sit back and say, “So what ya gone do?”

    Stay up fam,

  8. The Profit™ says :

    I appreciate your insight B, but it is not at all my suggesting that Obama is the only candidate that needs to pass a litmus test to earn my vote, yet, he is one I’d like to see “get real.” There is an impediment to a progressive environment that exists in this country where someone can look and/or be given the part without actually earning it (William Clay “Bill” Ford, Jr., Ashlee Simpson, George W. Bush, etc.). It seems that on occasion, we don’t expect what Garlin understands will be expected of any candidate, not just Obama (I expect more out of all the candidates, not just Obama). Voters want to know what the candidates’ plans are. It’s that simple. Those plans will earn the candidates their way into or out of the top leadership position. Why aren’t we more fervently expecting this in detail of someone who says they want to run it all and they want our approval?

    I want to know what the candidates’ real ideas are for being CEO of this country before we hand any of them the country’s checkbook. Senator Biden seems to have the lead there, although, he’s also not been quite that explicit about his intentions. Obviously, we’ll have to wait to find out any of that until current events transpire that, during the campaigning, will lead to the rationalization and manipulation of voters by the candidates before the mud slinging begins and paper foreign/domestic agendas are shown in commercials before we are hypnotized into giving in to someone.

    Obama is quite an adequate decision-maker in his current post. His rise is very encouraging, and I am definitely going to be patient until Decision ’08 to make a judgment on whether or not he’s the real deal in the race. Let me be clear, if that’s alright: I have not made a decision not to vote for Obama come November 4, 2008. I am simply stating that as of today’s date, I don’t quite buy his candidacy. I’m pretty open-minded and can be sold to. Let’s just hope that, for our sake, he continues to be a great decision-maker over the next year, and he becomes just as good a salesman for the duration of the primaries.

    ~ The Profit™

  9. Gena says :

    I am concerned about his lack of political experience. I have said this before, he doesn’t have enough “seasoning”.

    I think he would be ready in 2012 and maybe this is part of the process in order for him to be ready. But when Dubya leave office and the next person steps in there is going to be a hell of a lot of trouble to clean-up.

    Great speech making is one thing. Running a country in chaos is another. He has to convince me he has a solid plain and he has to speak his convictions, not platitudes.

    He’s got to convince me.

    Gena

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

