To the Heart of the Matter

I heard this question posed by my Pastor, Christopher Brooks a couple weeks ago that I think should be asked of all people who lead a life of faith, regardless of religion.

If you had to choose between hanging out with people who share your faith versus people who share your race or ethnic group, which would you choose?

Stay up fam,

Categories:
Spirituality

Tags: ,

3 responses to “To the Heart of the Matter”

  1. "The Consigliere" says :

    Interesting question Brandon. I think at the heart of the matter is a shared experience. What I have learned is that the way I live my faith can vary greatly, while being scripturally correct. For instance, I may eat pork, the next man may not. Another person may be strictly gospel, but I am founs of Soul. We may both be Christians, but where we are coming from are informed by different forces. The same when it comes to race. The key is how different those differences are and how they interplay. Black Church is far different than say White Church. The music is different, the preaching style, everything. So I say all of this to say that at the end of the day, people want to be around people like themselves. That is how you rejuvenate. However, on the surface, the labels can be deceptive. There are some Christians I do not want to be around, because they rub me the wrong way. On the other hand, there are some blacks I dont want to be around for the same reason.

    In the end, diversity is cool. but if I am chillin, I want to be around people I CAN relate, not people who I am supposed to be ABLE to relate to.

  2. Garlin II says :

    I’m with Steve. I think this is kind of a false choice because the implication is that both of those groups are homogeneous, when in reality neither of them are anywhere close to that.

    The more interesting question in my mind is, why are people forced to make such a choice?

  3. Brandon Q. says :

    I see where you are coming from fellas. The point of the question is not about being forced to make a choice. Rather, it is a thought experiment to consider how our proposed values/priorities align with out actions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

