My fear of blogging

What’s up fam,

I just wanted to take a step back to really observe blogging as part of the broader national progressive movement. The universal nature of blogs naturally encourages writers to pen stories that are national in scope so as to capture the broadest swath of readers. The problem as I see it is that too many bloggers follow three troubling paths,

1) Writing relentlessly on the latest breaking story (often national in scope) and expressing the progressive interpretation.

2) Fear of writing original commentary for fear of being too exposed.

3) General lack of writing about local stories, fearing a lack of interest and/or possibly burning bridges.

Do you see these things happening on progressive blogs at-large? What do you look for when reading blogs? What do you see in The SuperSpade? I think that the national movement we all think or talk about is being impeded when we all write about the same thing. Our real power is finding the common values amongst our very unique stories and instigating change at the local level that organically builds into a national movement. Your thoughts?

Stay up fam,

Brandon Q.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “My fear of blogging”

  1. Villager says :

    I just started blogging in mid-January of this year. Truth-to-tell, I’m still trying to figure out my niche. It is likely that at some point I will create two other blogs … one focused on small business development/economic inclusion and such … the other focused on education & technology programs/services for African Americans.

    For now, I’m just trying to find a proper flow for my blog. I resemble your remarks in that I chase after national stories at time.

    peace, Villager

  2. Daniel K says :

    Brandon,

    I started blogging predominantly because of the Iraq war. However, I soon came to realize that I had a local audience and started to write more about local issues.

    While you always want to be first to a story, I’m not a reporter, so I don’t try to get into that rat race. However, I have found myself providing unique coverage of local events, such as debates and forums that aren’t getting much media coverage, or not the raw coverage a blogger can provide.

    My blog is mostly my commentary on issues. That’s the point of it. I get a decent amount of daily readers and interact with the local blogosphere on a regular basis.

    It is very hard to have a national readership. That comes with time, luck and reputation. If you write well, hopefully it will come. If you see someone who writes well, help get the word out about that person.

    It is easy to get burned out, so take it one day at a time. Take breaks. Don’t write every day if you don’t feel like it. Then come back stronger and better in your next post.

    In the end, write for yourself, to educate yourself, and everything else can follow from that.

  3. Brandon Q. says :

    What’s up fellas, thanks for the comments.

    Daniel, I think you hit the nail on the head when you said that bloggers should take a break and not feel pressured to have something new everyday. I think the local coverage you provide is an excellent model that should be done more often in the blogosphere.

    Villager, I too am guilty of feeling pressure to keep up with writing on breaking stories and I just had to come to terms with the fact that (like Daniel alluded to) I am not a reporter and that readers of this site want to hear interesting topics and commentary, not the CNN ticker of the latest news.

    What I do love about blogging is that more often than not, the more a person writes from the heart, the more successful they are. My three points was my attempt to help myself and other bloggers understand why they blog and to set up parameters to not get caught up in the hype.

    Thanks again,

    Brandon Q.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

