Why are people so afraid of Black men who think?

It’s hard being a Black man in Washington that disagrees with the Bush administration. Reverend Lennox Yearwood, Leader of the Hip Hop Caucus was arrested gang-tackled and hospitalized today while trying to be a witness to the Congressional testimony on the status of the Iraq occupation by General David Petraeus today.

Video of Rev. Lennox Yearwood being arrested.

For such a tough guy, this president sure doesn’t like to face peaceful people that disagree with him and his policies.

Why are people so afraid of Black men who think?

One Love. One II.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

8 responses to “Why are people so afraid of Black men who think?”

  1. Non super white woman says :

    This video made me cry. I couldn’t even watch all of it.
    No one is safe. I have called my congressman but I feel so powerless. My prayers are with Rev. Yearwood.

  2. Brandon Q. says :

    Garlin, seeing stuff like this makes me want to get arrested. I don’t mean that in some romantic sense but with a deep-seated anger that is born from Rev Yearwood, Genarlow Wilson, Jena 6, my ancestors that were slaves in this country, and all the Black folks that are one heartbeat from having the weight of America’s injustice on their shoulders.

    Like Marcus Garvey said, “Up you mighty race, you can accomplish what you will.”

  3. Sakara R. says :

    Okay Garlin, WTF? I have no words for this. He was waiting in line?! Just standing around, being Black, waiting in line?! And we’re supposed to believe that ‘race doesn’t matter’?! This makes me sick to my stomach. Aside from all the arrest brings to pass, they broke his leg. I guess that’s what can happen if one “fits the description”.
    Pissed.

    Aside from being afriad of Black men who think, there is some twisted, sick-minded supremecy on the part of the privilaged. He did it because he could do it. We could list of all Bush’s war crimes, and in light of everything his administration has done, I’m sure having someone get their leg broke here and there is like picking a flower for George; completely insignificant. Why aren’t people as outraged by this as they were with dog fighting? Where’s the sense in that?

  4. Garlin II says :

    Sakara,

    The reason that there is less outrage here than there was for the dogs is because animals have more people working for their rights in this country than Black men do. That’s f’d up.

    However, it is true that there was relatively little outrage when Cindy Sheehan got the boot from the State of the Union address too.

    I guess people think it’s OK for the president to not look at people who disagree with him.

    One Love. One II.

  5. Anonymous says :

    But Cindy Sheehan was reported on atleast, whereas I have yet to see this in any major news outlet (although that doesn’t mean it hasn’t been). Now she is a more well known figure to popular media, but this is more serious than her arrest that same day– this is a violent response. Another piece of context to this story for those who don’t know, Rev Yearwood JUST beat a rediculous case over his discharge from the Air Force Reserve as a ‘risk’ to national security. It seems like the covert is becoming more overt exponentially everyday between this, the Univ. of MD noose, the Jena 6, the WV torture case, and the White Vigilantes post Katrina just to name a few. One thing that comes to mind for me is how will we address the covert products of racism in our attempt to discuss the overt displays like this one so we don’t just end right back where we’ve been?

  6. EDITMOUSE says :

    THERE IS A VERY DANGEROUS CLIMATE IN THIS COUNTRY. IT SMELLS OF CONFORMITY AND APATHY. IS THIS THIRD REICH GERMANY? THE VIDEO OF REV YEARWOODS ARREST IS JUST MUST SEE TV FOR A COUNTRY THAT GETS CELEBRITY WORSHIP 24/7.

    MY POINT IS, WHO’S WATCHING? THIS WON’T EVEN MAKE THE NEWS. SAD TO SAY.

    THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TIME, INDEED.

  7. Anonymous says :

    I have contacted (both by phone and email) Speaker Pelosi’s office and asked if this behavior is within the guidelines of behavior for the Capitol Police. If it is thse guidelines need to be changed, if it s not, these officers need to be disciplined. The Speaker’s office has not seen fit to comment on this issue, the person I spoke to was very disdainful, I could just see her rolling her eyes. More folks need to hammer Pelosi on this, until she has to comment.
    Meanwhile, I hope Rev. Yearwood sues the pants off all these fascist thugs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

