VOTE: Ralph Nader for President – Does anybody care?

Ralph Nader is running for President…again. What do you think about that? Answer the poll question below to share your thoughts.

{democracy:4}

One Love. One II.

Tags:

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

16 responses to “VOTE: Ralph Nader for President – Does anybody care?”

  1. Kim says :

    I like the idea of a 3rd party for certain, as I’m all about choice, but Ralph Nader needs to go sit down and pass the torch at this point. I think he has some good ideas, and he makes great points on some key issues affecting Americans today, but as far as relevance in 2008? Most young voters don’t have a clue who he is, and most older voters just roll their eyes as soon as they hear his name. If he wants to keep the Green Party relevant, I think he needs to inject new blood into it.

  2. upsetthesetup says :

    Ralph Nader is not a member of the Green Party nor is he running as the Green Party nominee in 2008. This is a misconception. While his name is included among the candidates for the Green Party nomination (mostly due to Nader fanboys in the party), that contest is still in progress, with Cynthia McKinney emerging as the leader for the GP nom.

    And for real, what has Nader done over the last 8 years, other than these 11th hour hail mary runs for the white house.

  3. riana.elyse says :

    it’s not that 3rd parties are bad for politics, i totally agree that they will help the democratic process, but not during such a monumental year. the republicans MUST be defeated this year, and if independents (which, i don’t think many will swing nader’s way) end up voting FOR nader, then it will somehow hurt the democrats. mccain for america? bad business. nader running and potentially, by default, putting mccain into the presidency? even worse business.

  4. Fatima says :

    What needs to happen now is former Nader supporters (like me) should speak up and speak loud about his arrogance and narcissism. He’s clearly doing this to make a point and doesn’t really care about the future of this world (because he knows his presence puts us at risk for at least 4 more years of war mongering). If he really wanted to help, he would sit down with the favored Senator Obama and approach him with the issues he wants addressed, just as the rest of us Obama supporters should.

  5. VV says :

    I almost voted for Nader once back in the day, when it was between Bush and Gore…but I was persuded to vote for Gore instead and not “waste my vote”.

  6. SystemsThinker says :

    If we had a majority, instead of a plurality, election system, there would be no such thing as “wasted votes”.

  7. Arnold Djondo says :

    To be honest I think that Ralph Nader is dellusional (sorry if i spelled that wrong). He has absoulotley the same chances of winning the race as ron Paul the nomination; in other words 0%!

  8. Arnold Djondo says :

    “I like the idea of a 3rd party for certain, as I’m all about choice, but Ralph Nader needs to go sit down and pass the torch at this point. I think he has some good ideas, and he makes great points on some key issues affecting Americans today, but as far as relevance in 2008? Most young voters don’t have a clue who he is, and most older voters just roll their eyes as soon as they hear his name. If he wants to keep the Green Party relevant, I think he needs to inject new blood into it.”

    Comment by Kim — February 25, 2008 @ 11:44 am

    Fantastic Kim! now i see what Nader is trying to push foward. I appreciate you opening my mind a little more if Nader wants to actually impact the race, he needs to rethink his ideas, raise and harvest money, get attantion from the general population in a postive way and then observe and then ypu must act.

  9. Arnold Djondo says :

    sorry for my poor spelling. when grow up i’m going to major in math and science

  10. Pat says :

    In this election cycle, as with past cycles that Nader has participated in, it is not about Nader. Its about the issues.

    I have supported Nader in every election he has run in in order to have a platform to argue for social justice issues that are ignored by the major parties.

    There is another alternative in this election, and Ralph likes her too. Cynthia McKinney of Georgia has joined the Green Party and is running for president.

    http://www.runcynthiarun.org/

    When the candidates of the major parties fail to represent, respect and reflect the social values that I consider vital to America it is a loss for me to vote for any of them. Including Obama. But most especially Clinton. Voting for any of them is a loss for me. I got tired of voting for right-wing cretins who I knew would crap in my face after the election so instead I ONLY vote for the candidates who respect and reflect my social justice values. At least then I lose but retail my personal integrity. If I vote for a major party winner I lose and come out of it without any self-respect.

  11. Linda Hamilton says :

    I applaud his election as president. He sounds like the only one who isn’t in the pay of the illuminate,I would like to see him go after the American Bad Men before the one world government takes over.Nader sounds like he knows what is going on,I wish he were my mentor

  12. Bob Arket says :

    I was researching for a Bank that would best weather the current financial crisis when I stumbled upon a Ralph Nader prediction in 1998 that financial institution mergers would need a govt bailout. I am not a Nader supporter persay, but gotta admit he predicted this in detail. Check it out:
    MARRYING MONEY
    April 13, 1998
    The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer Transcript

    http://www.pbs.org/newshour/bb/business/jan-june98/mergers_4-13.html

  13. Samantha says :

    I am voting for Ralph Nader. He is the real change our nation needs.

  14. Ebony says :

    Why is Ralph Nader runing for president?Anyway I won’t say that I wil vote for him but he’s got at good chance at geting my vote

  15. Malicia says :

    People should learn to challenge the current system if it is not working!

    Third party’s represent change. In or out of the office they help shape out future.

    Vote your Hopes, Not your Fears

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

