Black silence on Jeremiah Wright

Maybe I missed this but given the outcry over the potshots taken at Obama’s pastor Jeremiah Wright, where is the push back from the Black Church and church leaders in particular? Just so people are clear, Wright is being demonized by mainstream media for being everything from being a Black separatist to anti-Jew. This is an obvious smear campaign and forget about Obama for a second, this is about the Black Church, that despite its shortcomings, is a very important institution in the Black community.

Just so people know the vision of Trinity United Church of Christ;

We are a congregation which is Unashamedly Black and Unapologetically Christian… Our roots in the Black religious experience and tradition are deep, lasting and permanent. We are an African people, and remain “true to our native land,” the mother continent, the cradle of civilization. God has superintended our pilgrimage through the days of slavery, the days of segregation, and the long night of racism. It is God who gives us the strength and courage to continuously address injustice as a people, and as a congregation. We constantly affirm our trust in God through cultural expression of a Black worship service and ministries which address the Black Community.

I want people to know the mission of Wright’s church, the Trinity United Church of Christ.

The Pastor as well as the membership of Trinity United Church of Christ is committed to a 10-point Vision:

  1. A congregation committed to ADORATION.
  2. A congregation preaching SALVATION.
  3. A congregation actively seeking RECONCILIATION.
  4. A congregation with a non-negotiable COMMITMENT TO AFRICA.
  5. A congregation committed to BIBLICAL EDUCATION.
  6. A congregation committed to CULTURAL EDUCATION.
  7. A congregation committed to the HISTORICAL EDUCATION OF AFRICAN PEOPLE IN DIASPORA.
  8. A congregation committed to LIBERATION.
  9. A congregation committed to RESTORATION.
  10. A congregation working towards ECONOMIC PARITY.

I have three main observations.1. Being pro-Black does not equate to being anti-anything. If you need clarification on this point, email me at bqwhite@gmail.com

2. Why don’t more Black churches have missions that are similar to that of Trinity United? I am not saying all Black churches must have the same mission statement but how many times have you seen a Black church make an explicit commitment to Africa? And why is it radical to support Africa?

3. Any sensible Black church leader who refuses to stick up for Wright is out of their mind. If a Black church can successfully be branded racist and/or separatist because they express love and support for Black people, then we as a people really need to get back to basics.

Two things you can do, call or email support to Pastor Wright ((773) 962-5650 or info@tucc.org) and if you do go to church, ask your pastor to address this issue to your congregation.

Stay up fam,

Brandon Q.

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Black silence on Jeremiah Wright”

  1. drzinc says :

    Thank you for telling us that it is ok to be a “pro-black” church. Obviously, this means it is also ok to be a “pro-white” church, since we would not want to be unfair to one race over another.

  2. Anonymous says :

    its it clear that Obama’s call for american unity is being challenged by the cooperate mainstream that bennefits from us being devided.

  3. Muslims Against Sharia says :

    Muslims Against Sharia call on Senators McCain and Obama to cut all ties with their racist, Islamophobic, and anti-Semitic supporters.

    McCain: http://muslimsagainstsharia.blogspot.com/2008/03/mccains-spiritual-guide-destroy-islam.html
    Obama: http://muslimsagainstsharia.blogspot.com/2008/03/racist-congregation-cheering-racist.html

  4. Pastor L.L. Lewos says :

    I agree with everything you have said. I think some of our major Pastors who are firends of Jeremiah Wright should speak up. We should not stand by and allow people with a agenda for political reasons to demonize such a great man of God who have helped so many people.

    It is a shame that we do not have media outlets to voice our opinions. I mean when you consider that this man has seven honorary doctorates, a earned doctorate, served in our military and received 3 presidential commendations, served on several boards of trustees of colleges and universities, and preached revivals all over America, some of the great black minds and preachers (whites also), should say resoundingly enough is enough!

  5. Brandon Q. says :

    Thanks for your comments everyone.

    drzinc, I detected a twinge of sarcasm in your comment and that’s fine. I will say this though, if there was a Christian Church that was committed to say, building the Irish-American community along with strengthening ties with Ireland, I would be all for it.

    drzinc, I would like to have a more substantive discussion with regard to your comment but I would need to know your thoughts minus the sarcasm.

    Pastor Lewos, I appreciate and agree with your comments and I am honored to know that you are speaking up.

    Anonymous, you are right about Obama being challenged on his unity message. I think this argument though is bigger and far more important than Obama.

    Stay up fam,
    Brandon Q.

  6. InnerCityRose says :

    Just a quick comment, since when is the pulpit the place to talk about politics etc? I have grown up in the black church and I don’t ever remember any pastor preaching about politics. Isn’t the whole point to preaching God’s word? True non people of color will never understand oppression but to stand up there and say God Damn America?? That made my stomach turn. I guess some of you also see no problem with his link to Minister Farrakhan either..whom we all know has some really messed up views. It’s ok to be proud of one’s race. I heard the Rev on an interview from 2007 say his church teaches black family values..why can’t it be just family values period. Sorry but I don’t get it and I am not surprised that other pastors aren’t stepping up to the plate and speaking out about this and I for one don’t blame them.

  7. Nicole T. says :

    As a member of Trinity UCC, thank you for your note. Keep up the pressure!

  8. Garlin II says :

    While I think that Wright can stand on his own two, I think what is most ridiculous is the double-standard that’s being demonstrated here. Conservative religious figures have been spitting divisive political rhetoric from the pulpit for quite a while, including some that have endorsed McCain, yet there is no mainstream outcry for McCain to distance himself from these people.

    I believe it was Thomas Jefferson who can be paraphrased as saying “chuch and state should be separated for both the good of the church and the good of the state.”

  9. Tracy Murray says :

    I am a peacock proud member of TUCC. I have been a member for over eight years. I am outraged at the way the media has tried to drag my loving and very honest minister through the dirt. Dr. Jeremiah A. Wright Jr. is a leader,a teacher and preacher. I love and respect him for the things he has taught me and my family. I know that Trinity is a place where my children will grow, thier children will grow and so on because of the things Pastor Wright has taught us. I pray that both Pastor Wright and Pastor Moss will keep doing what God has sent them to do.I am proud that we are unashamedly black and unapologetically christian. Those are values we as black people need to have. I thank you Pastor Wright for a job well done and for standing up for what you believe in. I am and always will be a proud Trinitarian for life.

  10. Dale Thorn says :

    The greatest sin against African Americans was the creation of the Big Lies and propaganda to justify the deeds that were done to them. These lies have outlived their original purpose by centuries now. When I look in the Bible, I see that the Devil is the father of lies. It is through these lies that doors are opened to all manner of evil. Keep speaking up Rev. Wright.

  11. cOOkie says :

    I am not Black, but was thrilled at Rev. Wright’s speech to the NAACP. I thought he told it like it was and really spoke truth to power. Although I am not THAT surprised at the push-back from the MSM, I am really disappointed not to have been able to find anything in the Black Media taking a stand –either way. Can anyone suggest anything besides BET? I already looked there and could only find news about Wesley Snipes, Byoncee, Jayzee etc.

  12. Dale Thorn says :

    Hillary got a miracle running for Senate when opponent #1 got cancer and opponent #2 died piloting his own plane. She needed another big miracle when she was falling behind this year, and now it looks like she’s getting this one too. Call me suspicious, or whatever, there it is.

  13. Min. D.J. Young says :

    Let me begin by saying, I find NO FAULT in Jeremiah Wright. I have sat at the feet of African-American ministers and have heard such preaching throughout all of my 67 years. Label it what you will, his messages are prophetic declarations of the judgment that is coming upon the United States of America. Such declarations are common to many ministers: I have heard it said from the mouth of many ministers, that if GOD does not judge America, HE will have to apologize to Sodom and Gomorrah! That, however, is the way that the white ministers declare it. Such a message is only intolerable when it comes from the mouth of a Black or otherwise colored man or woman of God. I have no doubt that the message is from God, Himself, and I believe that those who think that they are fighting merely to bring down a man are actually fighting against the very GOD of heaven. Beware, for vengeance belongs to HIM alone, and HE WILL REPAY!

    Tell me this, when has any politician, other than Obama, been told where, when, and with whom to worship? Isn’t one’s religion personal and private to him/her? What about the so-called separation between church and state? Does that only apply to some? Since Obama was held responsible for what Jeremiah Wright said, why was not Hillary Clinton held equally responsible for the reprehensible utterances of her husband and other campers? Why was only Obama held to such standards? Why did not the church as a whole, stand up in defense of one of it’s own? We are so busy majoring on the minors that we cannot see that we walk blindly upon a highway that leads to destruction, and what destroys one of us destroys us all…blindness, studipity, and the inability to think for oneself rather than allowing the government or the media to think for us. Wake up, look up, and live!!

  14. Brandon Q. says :

    Ken,

    I feel sorry for you. Your ignorance has given way to hate in the most tragic of ways. In case you didn’t know, this site is about understanding and bridging divides. Clearly, your use of the n word belies a deep seated antagonism towards this end. And if you are using an experience from seven years old to inform your entire worldview on a race of people, just think about how silly that sounds. I mean how do you know for a fact that “his” family told him to do it? It doesn’t really matter because in the end, I know you would never vote for Barack, I just pray that you come to realize that the world is literally passing you by and hate gets you no where fast.

    Brandon Q

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

