Dumi sticks it to Bill O’Reilly about Rev. Jeremiah Wright and the Black church

R. L’Heureux Lewis, better know to SuperSpade readers as Dumi, is one of my intellectual heroes. Since I met him at the University of Michigan, he has always challenged me to look more deeply into issues and events to understand how to more effectively respond.

Last week, he was on the Bill O’Reilly’s The O’Reilly Factor discussing the Rev. Jeremiah Wright and his recent statements. I can summarize it like this: Bill O’Reilly doesn’t really understand anything he said.

One Love. One II.

Tags: , , ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

6 responses to “Dumi sticks it to Bill O’Reilly about Rev. Jeremiah Wright and the Black church”

  1. Nicole T. says :

    I saw Dumi on there, and as I told him, he made me very proud! Yay for black people from U Mich doing it big!!! :o)

  2. Sheila J says :

    Dumi did a great job in addressing the questions and not getting railroaded by O’Reily. It seems tough to get so many important points and clarifications in such a small amount of time and talking over each other. I wish his time would have been longer and given a calmer arena to express himself. Dumi has a lot of knowledge up there, and that could have been a great help to the viewers. Go Black from the Blue, Go Dr. Dumi!

  3. Sakara says :

    I appreciate the fact that he brought up the constitution and what we as Black people feel about it based on our history with it. I think that is a fundamental discussion we don’t have often enough. There are two Americas and two constitutions.

    Wish Dumi would have reminded him that not all Black people feel and think the same thing, Rev. Wright or otherwise.

    And I agree, Bill didn’t understand anything. He didn’t really want to in the first place.

  4. Fredric says :

    nice!

    i attempted to watch fox news after the obama’s speech just to get a feel of what possible opposing view could come out. it was very hard to watch and listen to hannity and o’reilly attempt to siphon specific phrases as a means of character representation.

    too often does bill attempt to railroad his black guests, and i’m glad the good doctor gave such eloquent and frank points in his 5 mins.

  5. P: Tree vor says :

    First, I am happy to hear Dumi being referred to as “Dr.” because I remember the time for this title to be established. Secondly, I think he did a great job in clarifying points O’Reilly made in efforts to railroad the discussion from the root of the discussion. And thirdly, I really appreciate the content of history discussed. It really brought about a great correlation of everyday livelihood while providing understanding for those not necessarily familiar to the content of “variety” held within Af Am culture and community. Great Job Dumi, doing what you do!

  6. Jusus says :

    I love it when the good doctor said that
    “When it was uncomfortable for African Americans to meet they did it in the church”
    The doctor also forgot the the black church was the only place where it was safe to speak your mind, and away from masters ears.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

