"At least I"

What really makes me mad is what I call the “At least culture” (ALC)  that in my opinion is seriously undermining the social fabric of this country. To be sure, I define ALC as the misplaced comfort people place in being in a better situation than those less fortunate. The most obvious place where this idea manifests is our bank accounts where quite simply, too many people, regardless of their income find too much solace in being able to say,

Well at least I have a house,

Well at least I have a car,

Well at least I can provide for my kids,

Well at least I have college/graduate degree.

The list could go on but the point is that while few people actually talk like this in the open, I think many more think like this as a way to manage expectations of themselves. I hope the current economic crisis has allowed some people to appreciate that objects and money can come as easily as they can go. Moreover, our idea of status and having a good name is also just as delicate. Proverbs 22:1 states, “A good name is to be more desired than great wealth, Favor is better than silver and gold.” What I love about this passage is that when you put it in perspective, it makes the obsession with “at least” in its proper place. How do you feel about your name? Do you walk in favor?

Stay up fam,

Brandon Q.

Tags: , ,

One response to “"At least I"”

  1. Garlin II says :

    Great observation B. What’s also dangerous about this mindset is that it’s based on the assumption that the thing(s) you “at least have” are good things or are the right things for you.

    It speaks to the larger fear of questioning premises given to us, which we have to overcome in order to improve anything.

    One Love. One II.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

