Bush takes responsbility for bad intelligence

Ladies and gentlemen: silence please. President Bush took responsibility for taking the country for war on bad intelligence. Granted, we have been in Iraq for almost three years without hearing such candor, but it is good to hear it nonetheless. The President went on to defend the war on the grounds that Saddam Hussein was a threat to our security. Now anyone in their right mind will know that Saddam didn’t have the infrastructure to wage a prolonged war against the US, especially on our soil. And more importantly, the only reason Bush was able to invade Iraq was because his administration conned a whole lot of people into believing there was a link between Iraq and Al-Qaeda. Of course we know there was no such connection and the prisoner we got that information from lied to his Egyptian captives so he could get better treatment.

But here’s the rub. Now I know Saddam was toppling him worth the deaths of over 30,000 Iraqis and over 2100 American soldiers? I think not. And if the Iraqis really wanted freedom en masse, they would have fought for it by themselves. Moreover, Iraq is really comprised of three main ethnic blocks which doesn’t align with the Western idea of every citizen finding a sense of unity under the flag.

But Bush is hoping that the Iraqi election will bring about unity in Iraq but it won’t. And I don’t say that because I want to see the Iraqis suffer but America is engaging in a cookie-cutter democracy and one size does not fit all.

Stay up fam,

Brandon

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Bush takes responsbility for bad intelligence”

  1. gary says :

    Nice blog dude. W is unbelievable. Totally.

  2. David Betts says :

    Do you know what really sucks? The fact that his admission of flawed intelligence is flying so far under the freaking radar. I just read this NY Times article http://www.nytimes.com/2005/12/15/politics/15prexy.html (I feel like an idiot because I can’t succesfully add a link, email me at my umich adress and help me out please) and that admission is buried in the middle of the piece. Shouldn’t the “liberal media” be going ga ga over this admission?

  3. D. Betts says :

    Okay, maybe I jumped the gun. A google news search shows several media outlets mention faulty intelligence in headlines, a lot of these outlets are overseas-but there’s a few in the US. Maybe more will come. I still need help posting links though, I’m so serious about my ignorance. It’s a bit of a hindrance to my online life.

Leave a Reply

