Why Conservatives should SUPPORT Choice

Abortion, and all things related to it, is arguably the most divisive subject of of our time. I personally abhore the way this debate polarizes people. By this I mean, why do you only have 2 options: pro-life or pro-choice?

Let’s dig a little deeper…

In mathematics, there is the concept of equivalence classes, which allows us to treat two different entities as essentially the same. I raise this here because “conservatives” equivalence class pro-choice to being a “baby killer.” It must be great to be conservative because it completely absolves you of that terrible thing that non-conservatives do: think (we’ll talk about that in greater detail later). Pro-choice doesn’t equate to “baby slayer” on my common sense calculator.

Thinking for a second and a half would reveal in one’s mind that pro-choice does not mean pro-abortion. It means exactly what it says: support of an individual’s (in this case a woman’s) right to CHOOSE. This means that you do not remove choices from an individual, no matter what those choices may be or how you feel about them. By this method it is quite possible to find the physical act of abortion wrong and still be pro-choice, a way that many people truly feel.

Conservatives, especially fundies, say the abortion is wrong because God says so. I guess The Holy Bible: Fundie Edition doesn’t describe how God gives people free will to make choices. Those choices could be things God may prefer (e.g. Honesty) or may not (e.g. Adultery). So why is it that these people want to take options off the table they don’t like, as if they are the ultimate decision makers? Who granted them such authority?

The basis of conservatism is individual sovereignty. They want “smaller” government. They want to reduce government intervention in your personal life. “You make your own decisions.” Well, I guess modern day conservatism has its limitations. We will stay out of your monetary decisions, but if you choose to have an abortion, you can’t: we made that decision for you. We will make you fend for yourself when it comes to health care, but should a homosexual choose to marry, you can’t: we made that decision for you. If the government making MY choices is not the definition of BIG GOVERNMENT (read: liberal ideology), I don’t know what is.

There is a difference between being pro-choice and pro-abortion. These things cannot be equivalence classed. I guess it’s difficult to attack more than one position, however, so let’s put them all in the same bucket and kick that bucket over.

So should the liberals and conservatives flip sides? I don’t know. But I do know that by definition, a conservative should support choice.


Garlin Gilchrist II
http://www.thesuperspade.com

Sent via Wireless Handheld

Tags: ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

Leave a Reply

