Remembering the Reason for the Season

On Christmas morning, I will be taking my nieces and nephews to do Meals on Wheels. In short, Meals on Wheels is a community service organization that serves hot meals to primarily elderly people that can’t enjoy a nice holiday meal due to either financial struggles or just not having an extended family that can take them in. I used to participate with Meals on Wheels when I was in high school and it is a very moving experience to see the joy on people’s faces when they see young people spending time away from their family to say Merry Christmas and hand them a hot meal.

I bring this up because I have had a hard time getting into the Christmas spirit this year. I graduated from college, found a job, bought a car, etc. and I wanted to really pay homage to my family for sticking with me when times were rough. And the Bible talks about how your heart is where your treasure is, so I wanted to just splurge on my parents, siblings, and nieces and nephews. But one lesson that has hit me hard this year is that having a job doesn’t mean you have money. And with that, I couldn’t get everyone a gift like I wanted to and I have been really down about that. Of course, the holidays are not about material things but I got sidetracked with all the things I could buy with a regular income.

Anyways, my three beautiful sisters talked some sense into me and after we talked, I thought about my more memorable Holiday seasons and what made them so. Almost instantly, I thought about Meals on Wheels and I remembered the tears of joy from the surprises of elderly people thankful for the most basic necessities of life. And then I thought about how memorable it would be for my nieces and nephews to share in the joy of Meals on Wheels because when you do community service right before you open up your gifts, it makes you all the more grateful for the excesses you take for granted.

So if you are like me, (young, working, and broke for the holidays) just remember that “spending” your time doing community service will buy gifts that will last a lifetime. And if you have kids in your family who can only dream about that new Xbox 360 they are getting, ask their parents if you can take them out on Christmas Day to do some community service. This has been a really rough year for a lot of individuals so what better way to close it out than to do some good in your community.

Stay up fam and remember the reason for the season,

Brandon

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

