The Weekly Dream: Life’s Lessons

What I’ve Learned…

Greetings and salutations. This week, in celebration of my upcoming birthday, I thought I might switch it up and give you a medley of some observations and words that I live by. Some are homespun wisdom, others are cliché, and others still are things I have picked up from friends and family. However, they are simple. At some point or another, they have helped me and hopefully they can do you some good. This is by no means an exhaustive list, and I welcome you to share your own “life lessons.” So in no particular order of importance…

1. Whenever something bad happens, remember, it could be much worse…
2. Hope for the best, but plan for the worse…
3. Always have a plan B and sometimes a C or a D…
4. You are going to be old for a longer time than you are going to be young, so make good decisions in your youth…
5. If you are talking, then you are not listening…
6. Trust is harder to come by than love…
7. A lie is worse than murder (Pops)…
8. Talent without character will lead to destruction…
9. Karma is real…
10. It is better to ask for forgiveness than for permission…
11. If you win, everyone loves you (Kobe)…
12. True liberation is to not need the validation of others…
13. Business is like dating, you cannot do it with everybody (Moms)…
14. Deal with people on their level…
15. The first laws of nature are self-preservation and balance…
16. If everyone is in agreement, then no one is thinking…
17. Tomorrow is not promised…
18. Our most precious commodity: Time
19. Know your personnel (Garlin)…
20. Make allowance for human frailty…
21. It is business, never personal…
22. Life will always give you a second chance, if you are willing to start over…
23. Know your personnel (Garlin)…
24. Scared money don’t make money (K Barki)…
25. When the grass is cut, the snakes will show (Jay-Z)…
26. You can survive an entire summer off of Ramen and grape soda…
27. Living with multiple women is highly overrated…
28. There are some things we are not meant to know, and others we are not meant to have…
29. What you cannot see is often more real than what you can…
30. Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce and Ranch dressing can go on everything (Clarence)…
31. Emotions are to be felt…
32. The truth is not always simple…
33. My generation’s music will never be as good as my parent’s…
34. The older I get, the less important money becomes…
35. In life there are farmers and there are cows, what are you? (Daniel)…
36. When the cow’s in the ditch, what do you do? You get ’em out (Whatever that means. Thanks Bob).

Truth and Peace,
Steven M DeVougas

Question of the Week: What are your life lessons?

Tags:

6 responses to “The Weekly Dream: Life’s Lessons”

  1. The Governor says :

    Food for thought: I always gets worse, before it gets better.

  2. The Governor says :

    Correction: It always gets worse, before it gets better.

  3. Garlin II says :

    I can’t take 100% credit for my quotes above. I have to give that honor to the best basketball coach I ever had, and whom I played by best ball for, Houstin Martin.

  4. Free says :

    I’m about to show my “country,” but here goes: “A cow will need its tail to fan flies more than once.” (Mama) She’d tell me this whenever I got “siddity” and forgot someone who helped me.

    Loved this post. (Happy birthday!)

  5. Steve says :

    Amendments to the post, since everyone got mad at me for not giving them a shout out…

    Nicole R. used to always tell me to “Pick my battles”.

    Sharece used to say, “You don’t miss what you have until it is gone.”

    Aaron always said,”You drink for the waste and not the taste.”

    My boy Justin said when it came to girls, “A closed mouth don’t get fed, so say somethin'”

    And no just means not right now

  6. Anonymous says :

    Steve,

    I.d like to add these quotes to the list…

    Man is made or unmade by himself; in the armory of thought he forges the weapons
    by which he destroys himself. He also fashions the tools with which he builds
    for himself heavenly mansions of joy and strength and peace.

    – James Allen

    ªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªª

    Just because it looks good doesn.t mean it.s good for you.

    – My mother on the subject of women

    ªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªª

    Drink slow, think fast.

    – Advise from me on drinking in unfamiliar places

    ªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªªª

    If I can think of any others I will send them your way. Happy Birthday Steve!!!

    Solomon G.

Leave a Reply

