The Weekly Dream: The Hunger for More

“Death is nothing, but to live defeated is to die everyday.”
-Napoleon Bonaparte

“While knowing that we will die someday, we think that all the others will die before us and that we will be the last to go. Death seems a long way off. Is this not shallow thinking? It is worthless and is only a joke within a dream…Insofar as death is always at one’s door, one should make sufficient effort to act quickly.”
-Hagakure: The Book of the Samarai, Yamamoto Tsunetomo

Once in college, a friend of Garlin’s and I came to us with a request. She admired our focus and point of view and she wanted us to mentor a young man, whom she thought had potential. We agreed to meet this young man and we did. However, we knew something was a little off.Garlin and I unanimously declined to take this young man under our tutelage. When asked why, we told her that he was not hungry. She looked perplexed, and we explained that we could look in his eyes and tell that this relationship would not work out.

When the student is ready, the master will appear…

In my first article, I wrote about the importance of passion. But then I realized that hunger was deeper than passion. It is passion taken to the next level. If passion is a flame, then hunger is a five alarm blaze. A person can pick and choose his passion, but hunger permeates your whole existence. It is a yearning mixed with a little desperation. It is the result of discipline, inner toughness, clarity of vision and a sense of urgency.

Hunger is what separated Michael Jordan from every other basketball player. People talked of Mike’s competitive streak and his killer instinct. But it was his hunger that drove him to constantly push himself to new heights. His hunger is what allowed him take over games anytime he wanted. This is what separates the good from the great.

When a person is hungry, failure is not an option because there are no other options but to reach your objective. This single-mindedness is the essence of the warrior mentality. Warriors are not concerned with death and they do not waste time or resources, but focus everything into execution. A warrior is keenly aware that this moment could well be his last.

Back Against the Wall

People with hunger act with frenetic energy. If you are tired, then you are probably bored. Therefore, it is essential that you seek new challenges to tap into new energy. A lack of energy=a lack of challenge. If you find yourself uninspired, lacking conviction and motivation, then it may be time for a change.

First, remove distractions. I spoke about this before, but it bears repeating. Next, make yourself uncomfortable. Be thankful, but be uncomfortable. This comes from a realization of your potential and how far you have to go in order to reach that. By facing risk, you must rise to the challenge. It could come internally or externally. It could be you have something to prove. Once people understand what they are really capable of and that they can have anything, they tend to work tirelessly to manifest that. Lastly, do not waste time.

If there is one thing I loathe is a person who wastes time. I learned early to take decisive and consistent action. It is possible to be hungry and to procrastinate. People who do this are generally known as bums. The point of hunger is to act with urgency and seize the moment. People who squander this precious resource or have no concept of timing demonstrate a fundamental ignorance or indifference that cannot result in success. Avoid these individuals; they have no control of their lives.

I will leave you with this…

My senior year of college, I ate Ramen noodles and two hot dogs pretty much every day. I had two jobs and seventeen credits. Yet, I received my highest grades during this time. I knew I had come too far to quit and that if I could succeed under these conditions, I could conquer anything. I grew to relish the pressure and the opportunity to prove myself. Knowing that the time would come, the hunger drove me to prepare.

At times, I have allowed the blaze to settle into a flame. When that occurs, it normally signals a change needs to be made. If you find yourself in this predicament, you also might consider making a change. Get hungry for change. Get hungry for greatness. Get hungry for better relationships. Get hungry for righteousness. Get hungry for LIFE. Dig deep, find the courage, and make that jump. When you do, don’t take “no” for an answer.

A coward dies a thousand deaths, but a hero dies but one.

Do not let compromise, timidity and apathy squelch the blaze.

Bon Vivant.

Truth and Peace,
Steven M DeVougas

Question of the Week: What do you do to feed your hunger?

Tags: ,

4 responses to “The Weekly Dream: The Hunger for More”

  1. chevive says :

    I keep myself as busy as possible. I often find that the more I do the more I end up doing, and the less I do the less I end up doing. I speak mainly of taking advantage of time and opportunities as they present themselves frequently to those that are in positions to see them. It is similar to that kid on your team that always seems to miss so many shots, but scores a lot. They might not even be that technical and this kid probably has you frustrated more than half the game. In soccer the kid is the one that has about five breakaways one on one with the goalkeeper and scores that one goal. The situation is this, you end up winning 1-0. A good coach would rather have someone in the game that creates opportunities frequently, but loses, than someone who is afraid or unwilling to move…

  2. Anonymous says :

    I take on challenges everyday teaching my students. I also talk to others in different communities and think of ways I can help no matter how small (cleaning, painting,planting). Talking to them reminds me no matter how comfortable I get in a situation or point in my life, I know there is still work to be done. I made it through with poor or lack of resources in my community and went to college but it doesn’t mean those resources don’t need to be developed now. I’m TIRED of educated folks forgetting about the struggle and where they came from or where they had the privilege not to come from. Even if my struggles weakens it doesn’t mean my sista’s or brotha’s isn’t in full effect. (When I not motivated or hungry)I call my sister who still hasn’t gotten her ged or high school diploma. I talk to my students who have four kids and our only 19. Then I quickly remember the struggle continues and there are ways for me to help. Right now I teach, sometimes I preach and hopefully I training others to do the same. I spend long hours helping students with educational deficiencies. I’m hungry for my community to be educated and uplifted.

  3. solomon says :

    Solomon has sent you a link to a weblog:

    What do I do to feed my hunger?

    I agree with the previous comment… staying busy.

    I see the vision of what “can be” and it becomes very dificult to ignore. I understand that if I don.t plan/execute the vision will not materialize. This realization keeps me moving.

  4. Free says :

    I burrow in and just PUSH. I seem to work better under the pressure of fear.

Leave a Reply

