The Weekly Dream: In search of Integrity

“Every man will proclaim his own goodness, but a faithful man who can find?”

I have stated and alluded many times that inconsistent people are one of my biggest pet peeves. I have friends that I have known forever, but I refer to them as my “50-50 friends,” because whatever they say or any plans we might make, has a 50-50 chance of happening. For instance, I have a very good friend who always calls me to go out on the weekend to a lounge downtown. Normally, I would say yes and begin to get dressed. But after a few instances of not hearing from him, I learned quickly that he was one of these individuals. Now, I do not change my plans or my ideas when this individual calls. We are still friends, but I just deal with him on his level.

Rare Indeed

This may seem like a small instance, but Jesus “He who is faithful in that which is least, will also be faithful in that which is great.” This is the rarest type of integrity and discipline indeed. And it can only be cultivated by being consistent in everything. Take any great athlete, and you will find that one of the factors that separates him or her from the rest of the back is the consistency in performance. Whether it was the regular season or the championship, the greats always delivered great performances.

This is an area that everyone can use improvement. How you handle the small things reveals a lot about your character and credibility. Therefore, be careful about what you say to people and what you commit to. Because you might forget, but there is a good chance that the person you committed to will not.

I Can Change

How can we master the details? Well besides being more conscientious of our interactions with others, we need to get organized. I am a big list maker. If I do not write it down, I know I will forget something. Use a calendar, planner, whatever. Also, the setting of a deadline to follow up or perform the task will make it more real. Whatever method you decide to use, the key is to just do whatever it is you say you are going to do, no matter how small it may be. That way, when it is time to come through in a crunch, others will have no problem putting their money on you.

Truth and Peace,
Steven M DeVougas

Question of the Week: How do you insure your consistency daily?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

