SuperSpade Categories

By now you’ve noticed the new categories section on the right side of all of our SuperSpade pages.  Now I’d like to officially explain what it is and how it works.

Brandon, Steve, and I went through and categorized every post written on the site.  We did this to better organize things for readers and make it easier to find stories on specific topics.  We’ve also created our own personal categories for stories written by each of us respectively, which you can see by clicking “Posts” under each of our names in the “Contributors” section on the right of each page (you can still get to the profiles by clicking “Profile”).

Going forward, you will see at the bottom of each post a list of which categories that post belongs to.  You can click these categories to see all of the other posts in the same category.

You all know that Brandon, Steve, and I have our own respective, unique closing salutations for our writings.  Now, those familiar signatures will be another way that you can link to all of the stories written by that story’s author (for example, clicking on “One Love. One II.” below will take you to stories authored by me).

On the right side of the pages, we will keep a set of 12 categories, which provide a pretty good cross-section of everything we’ve written.  This is not a comprehensive list of all of the categories we have, and this list will change from time to time by request and by topic frequency.

Please enjoy the new features.  This should give everyone a great way to access content on The SuperSpade.  Please leave questions and/or feedback as comments on this post.

One Love. One II.

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

Leave a Reply

