The SuperSpade at the Black Technology Now! Summit next week

I will be in Boston next week as a featured panelist at the National Black Programming Consortium‘s (NBPC) Black Technology Now! Summit (BTN) on November 8 & 9, 2006. This is a conference that is focusing on the future of public media and how people of color can take advantage of new ways to distribute their messages and content.

The panel that I am participating in is entitled NEW FUNKY: Virtual Communities of Color & More. The entire conference schedule is here.

What I will be focusing on in my presentation will be building online communities and how we can use the internet and other technologies to address broader social issues. I will talk about the existence of virtual solutions to real-life, tangible, brick-and-mortar problems. I will be using examples such as The SuperSpade, DetroitIntern.com, and other projects that I am working on to solve problems with technology.

Just like the last public speech that I gave, I will post the audio (and maybe video if it is available) of this talk on the site upon my return. Also like before, if you have any ideas about the topic, I’d love for you to share them.

Short bios of myself as well as other speakers & panelists are available here.

One Love. One II.

Categories
The SuperSpade
Travel
Speech
Boston
Technology
Digital Divide

Tags: , ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

7 responses to “The SuperSpade at the Black Technology Now! Summit next week”

  1. ellen says :

    Good luck, Garlin! Congrats to the Superspade on a job well done. This sounds like a great opportunity.

  2. Garlin II says :

    ellen,

    Thank you and Brandon, Steve, and I appreciate your support for us and this website.

    This will be an opportunity to spread both the Vision of The SuperSpade as well as it’s lessons learned to a group of people that will perhaps be able to apply it to their own lives and work.

  3. Anonymous says :

    Hi Garlin,

    It is wonderful to see some of the fruits of your labor. Best wishes and lots of prayers and support are coming your way. Be safe and take Jesus with you where ever you go.

    Love Lady B

  4. Garlin II says :

    Lady B,

    Brandon, Steve and I thank you for your continued support of us and our vision. We appreciate the way that you have never been hesitant to contribute your insights to discussions since the early days of this site.

    I encourage you as well as other readers to continue to do just that.

  5. Anonymous says :

    Good luck at the conference! Keep doing great work.

  6. Anonymous says :

    Hey G! I think your website is awesome. It always strikes intrigruing conversations with others. Wish you the best!

    Love ya,
    Jenn

  7. Garlin II says :

    Thanks Jenn. Game day is tomorrow. I’ll let everyone know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

