New SuperSpade Feature: Website Previews

Today, I am rolling out the first of many design changes on The SuperSpade.

Our goal here is to create a great online discussion and participation experience where we can debate issues and brainstorm solutions to problems. In order to make this experience the best that it can be, this site must grow.

Actually, the first change was the addition of categories. Today’s change is visual. It allows users to see previews of all of the sites that we link to for our news stories. All you have to do is move your mouse over a link, and you’ll see a popup with a picture of the site. Try these:

The New York Times
The Washington Post
Black At Michigan

Try it and let us know what you think or if you have any problems with it. We’ll be adding more to make The SuperSpade a better place to read and participate.

One Love. One II.

Categories
SuperSpade

Tags: ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

2 responses to “New SuperSpade Feature: Website Previews”

  1. Bus Chick says :

    Nice! I assume that the purpose is to let folks see the site before they decide if they want to visit it. It looks cool, but I’m wondering if you think it will prove useful. From my perspective, I don’t think a picture preview would influence my desire to click a link, since what I really want is the information. What do others think?

  2. Garlin II says :

    Thanks Bus Chick for the comment and feedback. I agree that the goal should be the info at the link and not simply what the linked page looks like. I think that this will make it easier for people to recognize the places where we do link to sites outside of our own, and in those cases, give people a sense of what they will see when they get there.

    We will see how useful it is. If I get bad feedback, I can try something else. Thanks a lot for participating on our site.

Leave a Reply

