The SuperSpade Interview on Radio Nation with Dr. Laura Flanders

Family,

Here is the audio (1 min 51 sec, wav file) from my brief interview on Radio Nation with Dr. Laura Flanders this past Saturday night while I was in Memphis, TN at the Free Press National Conference on Media Reform. I used this time to describe what the mission and vision of The SuperSpade is to a broad audience.

This gathering was one of the most inspiring and energizing assemblies that I have ever attended. I will reflect more on the conference, who I met, and what I learned a bit later. The SuperSpade was very well received.

I am back in Seattle for all of one day before I go to Detroit for a few days this week.

Happy MLK Day everyone. Use this as a day of learning and not of laziness.

One Love. One II.

Categories:
SuperSpade
Speech
Radio Interview

Tags: , ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

One response to “The SuperSpade Interview on Radio Nation with Dr. Laura Flanders”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Hi Garlin. I sat by you in Memphis at the session where we crafted the internet ‘tollbooth’ message.

    I just gotta say, even though it feels weird, that I think Memphis was the best black experience I ever had. I grew up with a black population and had some superficial friendships with my black classmates, but I didn’t realize that I carried some of those negative pubescent impressions from high school right into my adult life.

    Now I would totally say I was a liberal, but the truth is that my community and town is very white. I really don’t have much day to day interactions with African Americans. It’s a little hard to admit, but I was surprised at the courtesy, kindness, intelligence, and positive feeling I got from nearly every black man I met in Memphis. From folks in the sessions to people on the street. I got an education from many local folks and a musical/hospitable experience of a lifetime at Wild Bill’s (thanks for sharin’ your birthday Ms. Lynn).

    Being able to visit the Civil Rights Museum and walk where Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. walked, to see where he died, to experience being in a crowd of black people explaining to their children the events of history. Realizing that I hadn’t really taken the time to try and teach my own children these lessons.

    So thanks for your part, Garlin. I’m gonna check back in here to get the black perspective. You seemed tuned in to many of the same nuances of communication that I was.

    See ya next time.

Leave a Reply

