I almost cried…

I am reading a book entitled, In Search of the Proverbs 31 Man: The One God Approves and a Woman Wants, by Michelle McKinney Hammond. For those that are unaware, Proverbs 31 is a famous passage in the Bible that elegantly lays out the qualities of an ideal wife. When women ask me what type of woman I am looking for, I often say the woman of Proverbs 31.

Nevertheless, what Michelle does in her book is ask, “What kind of man can truly appreciate a Proverbs 31 woman and what qualities should he have?” I have wondered this for years and I am so grateful that this book was written.

I write this post today because I almost cried when I came across this passage in the book. Michelle states, (emphasis mine)

“One of the most beautiful things I ever heard a wife say about her husband was: It feels like God is loving me through my husband. He is so sensitive to my needs. It’s almost as if he anticipates them and meets them before I even say a word.” Only a man who prays and hears from God can do such a thing for his wife” (p 17)

If you were not moved by that quote, I suggest you keep reading it until you do. And for me, and I think many other men, we want to be good husbands and fathers, which is fine. But for you to be in a place where your wife feels like God is loving her through you is I can only imagine like living a miracle everyday of your marriage. The spiritual clarity it would require to be at that place requires daily discipline and I have purposed in my heart to lead a life where my wife will that her husband is a true Man of God.

For anyone that is married and reading this post, man or woman, purpose in your heart to take the necessary steps to situate your marriage where you can clearly see the power of God manifesting itself in the life of your partner.

And if you are single, use this principle to find a partner that will sustain you with an agape love. Being single should be a time to hone your relationship with God so that once you do get married, you will be able to provide spiritual fortitude that will do nothing but make your marriage purposeful, enjoyable and fulfilling.

Stay up fam,

Categories:
Spirituality
Marriage
Relationships

Tags: ,

2 responses to “I almost cried…”

  1. "The Consigliere" says :

    B,
    That is really deep. To love your mate/significant other is the ultimate challenge. Because you have to put your guard down and always have open arms. I constantly remind myself of the Biblical passage in 1 Cor. 13, that “Love bears no record of wrong”. This is really hard to do, when our natural instinct is to remember and hold on to the hurt and pain inflicted on us by others, especially those we care about.

    However, those experiences, where you work through the pain and rebuild your relationship causes you to understand how God loves us and keeps us from taking that love for granted.

    I pray that all my brothers step up to be the man that deserves and truly values the Proverbs 31 woman.

  2. Garlin II says :

    This raises the question to me about the term “marriage material.”

    Why do you think that we hear that term used more often when describing women than men (at least I do)?

    The book you are talking about here is important if for no other reason than it forces men that read it to take a critical look at themselves and whether they are in a place where they can be successful in marriage.

    Any book like that that makes us think about ourselves is a good one.

Leave a Reply

