Chinks In The Armor

Question of the Week: What are you insecure about?

Every birthday, I take some time to myself to reflect on the past year. I think about what I have learned and what I need to learn in order to make the best use of my time on earth. This year, it was kind of difficult to gain clarity in my thoughts because it seemed like I was fighting one battle after another, adjusting from one change to the next.

Indeed, this year is one of tremendous change and change tends to cause anxiety. And anxiety allows your insecurities to come to the surface. Pretty soon, you are paralyzed and ineffective. Once I realized this, I understood my task: to examine and conquer the areas I am insecure about.

Channeling Your Swag

Last week, the movie 300 came out. It is a dramatization of the Battle of Thermoplyae between the Persians and the Spartans. The Spartans were fantastically outnumbered, outclassed, and ill-equipped, but they confidently strode into battle and fought to the last man. What struck me was the resoluteness and pride the Spartans accepted their fate. They did not worry about losing their lives or how they were inferior to the Persians, they just decided to leave it out on the battlefield. And that is what life demands of us.

We all have insecurities. However, no one is born with them, insecurity is learned behavior. Insecurity occurs when there is a lack of confidence around an area in our lives or personality. Perhaps you were teased as a child or it was something you were born with. The reason for this lack of confidence can stem from any number of reasons.

Most commonly, we are insecure when we enter situations we have no control over. And like roaches, where there one insecurity, there are a number that will follow. And what results is an infuriating powerlessness.

Excess Baggage

Have you ever sat back and evaluated all the things you are insecure about? I suggest you think about everything you are not confident about or at peace with and put it on paper. You would be surprised at the sheer number of things have you wound up. And it is okay. The challenge is examining those things that are holding you back and waging war against them because it hurts your focus.

If there is one thing I have learned, it is this: The hardest part of maturing is learning to accept and love yourself, with all your perfect imperfections. It is a never ending battle. But we must constantly perform that gut check and dare to embrace ourselves-even when we think the world won’t.

I would be lying to you if I said my swagger is always on “ten”, but I thank God I have learned to press on in spite of how I feel. And you know what? I have found that everything works out in the end.

Therefore, be encouraged. You may feel ill-equipped for the battles of life, but the fact that you are still willing to fight is what true bravery is.

Truth and Peace,
Steven M DeVougas

Categories:
The Weekly Dream

Tags:

Leave a Reply

