The Weekly Dream: Out of This World

“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

-John 14:27

“Find heaven in yourself and God”

Ghetto Heaven, Common

A few days before the Virginia Tech tragedy, I was having a conversation with my neighbors about the local crime in the city.  In my astonishment I asked, “Where do you have to go to get some peace?  The moon?”  To which my neighbor responded, “You better look at yourself, that is the only place you are going to find it.”  For some reason, that stuck with me.

Let’s face it, the world is crazy.  And if you did not know that before the Virginia Tech shootings, that incident right there should prove it to you.  And something we often forget is that people are hurting and lonely.  We may be hurting and lonely and do not even realize it.  So I asked myself, “Where do people find peace?”

 

Peace is defined as inner contentment or tranquility, being free from strife and hostility.  With this definition, we know why peace in the world is so transient: in the world, there is so much hostility and conflict.  And if you notice, peace never lasts long.  People turn to all sorts of things to find peace, but the question I pose is, will that thing that gives you peace last or can it be lost? 

I have spoken many times of maintaining your internal equilibrium and protecting your peace of mind.  When outside forces come along and cause you to feel stressed,fearful  or anxious, you feel violated, like someone took something from you.  The reason you feel that way is because your peace has left you. 

Building on Sand

If you think about it, human beings are very fragile creatures and that thought alone is enough to stress you out.  If you sat down and thought about the perils you face everyday when you walk out the door, you might not ever leave the house.  So, why do we do it?  Do we have real security or a false sense of security?  Can we even give ourselves the peace we need is this crazy world? 

The peace Jesus was talking about must have been major.  And He must have known we were going to need it.  Jesus had the peace that surpassed understanding.  When everything was going wrong, He still stayed the course.  That peace is rare indeed.  If we are to be leaders and to reach our potential, that is the peace we will need.  I believe it primarily comes from a relationship with the Creator, because His vantage point far surpasses our own.  Next, when we know we are doing what we are destined to do, there is a sense of peace that comes from harmony in purpose.  The Jesuits call this having a “vocation.”  We also find deep peace in true, Agape love with those we are in covenant with.  Lastly, we find peace within ourselves when we know we are true to ourselves and cultivating spiritual strength.  Outside of these things, you tell me.  Talk back and let me know.

The point I am trying to make is that I hope we all examine what we are basing our peace on and hopefully it can stand the storms of life.  If not, you may be in for a rude awakening.

Truth and Peace,

Steven M DeVougas

Outside of the

Tags:

Leave a Reply

