The Long Shower

Earlier this week I had a little back up in my tub’s drain and when I went to take a shower, my feet became submerged in a puddle. Not a good look! So I turned off the shower to let the tub drain and I proceeded to lather and get SuperSpade fresh. After I finished lathering, I turned the shower back on, rinsed, and got out. While I was drying off, I was ashamed at how much water I waste by taking showers everyday.

As I try to be more environmentally aware of my actions, I know that water is fast becoming a scarce resource. Before I leave this earth, there will more than likely be military conflicts between countries over access to water unless we really get serious about conservation. A while back, I wrote about the growing and troubling nexus between the environment and national security.

Most troublesome though is that there are millions of people in this world that will never be able to take a shower in the way that the West is accustomed to. My shower experience made that sad reality visceral and stark. Sometimes it is easy to forget how privileged we are in America and my shower experience helped me empathize with those less fortunate on a deeper level.

From now on, I am going to take “dry showers.” Give it a try and let me know what you think. If I am way behind the curve on this, that’s cool too.

Stay up fam,

Brandon Q.

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “The Long Shower”

  1. Ellen says :

    A very good friend of mine introduced me to the idea of “dry showers” a few months back. It really does make a huge difference, especially when I wash my hair! The amount of water I “waste” while I wet and lather my long hair is a bit on the disgusting side. Now, I save water and money by cutting back.

    Environmentally friendly soaps and shampoos also help protect our limited water supply.

  2. super_mujer06 says :

    Can you explain what a “dry shower” is exactly?

  3. Brandon Q. says :

    What’s up super, a “dry shower” is a shower where you turn off the shower while you lather, thereby saving water that you really don’t need.

    Ellen, I appreciate your comment. I hoped I was behind the curve on this and I will look into environmentally soaps and shampoos. I wonder how much our world could change if all Americans took “dry showers.” As Garlin would say, it is time to get back to basics. Ellen, are you worried about possible conflicts over water?

    Stay up fam,

    Brandon Q.

Leave a Reply

