Jena 6 Update: At least 15 years is less than 22…

The Jena 6 got a bit of a break today. Mychal Bell, the kid who was to get 22 years, has now gotten one of the charges dropped against him. That means that instead of facing up to 22 years, he'll now only face up to 15.

Even long journeys have to start with small steps. You can take a small step by donating to their defense fund.

One Love. One II.

Tags: ,

About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

13 responses to “Jena 6 Update: At least 15 years is less than 22…”

  1. Brandon Q. says :

    We have to keep pounding the pavement because this DA will not rest unless these boys get SOME jail time. We cannot waiver in our determination for justice. Even as I write now, I hope the Jena 6 case serves a beacon for people who have a hard time conceiving of justice. If you just look at the facts of the case, you know this ain’t right.

    Stay up fam,

  2. Anonymous says :

    I want to know if the Detroit Chapter of the NAACP is going to do anything in protest of Jena 6? If so, when and where? It should be publicized!

  3. Brandon Q. says :

    Anon, I don’t know that local Detroit Branch of the NAACP is doing. However, if you want to get down to Jena and do something, click here

    http://www.thesuperspade.com/getting-down-to-jena/

  4. Anonymous says :

    he doesn’t deserve any time in jail. maybe suspensed from school,but not any freakin’ time in JAIL. I don’t remember ever getting jail time for a school fight. come on wake up, when did you end up in jail because you set up under a tree, or because you took a gun away because you took a gun away from someone who pulled it on you. WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!!!

  5. Jacqueline Slaughter says :

    I was disgusted and appalled at how prevalent racism and prejudice is in Louisiana. I am formerly a Louisianan. It seem I defended my home state, and yes I defended a state that have always been a racist state. I pray that the Jena Six be freed from unfair court decisions. What I am not understanding is the state is saying it is okay that white teenager could beat blacks and call it a “Prank”, but when a white student harrass black with racial slurs and gestures, and they get into a fight, it is called “Attempted Second Degree Murder”, IS THIS SOME KIND OF SICK JOKE FROM A WHITE COMMUNITY? It is unbelievable that in the year 2007, that SLAVERY LAWS still exist in Louisiana. UNBELIEVABLE! May GOD blessing be with the Jena Six.

  6. Anonymous says :

    The sick people are the blacks and there crybaby excuses to get priveleges in society. If you want an appology, here it is, I’m sorry that you’re people are’nt compatable in American Society. You’re talking about whats not fair because a black kid got beat up too. It was’nt even the same person. Shows how ignorant so people are. The only racism I see here is Blacks.

  7. Anonymous says :

    To “The only racism I see here is Blacks.”…THAT IS problem, you ONLY see your side. If it were YOUR kid being railroaded, I don’t believe you would just accept 22 years as fair or just.

  8. tommy says :

    Just as the students wore the shirts “not to piss people off”.People are hanging nooses not to piss people off.Next thing someone will fire a gun not to piss off.Words do not cause normal people to try to murder others. Get a grip on reality, that boy was beaten by a mob that had every intention of killing him! Stick up for what’s correct and jail the criminals.What next bank robbery for slave reparations?

  9. kerry r atlanta ga says :

    all these white people posting as anyomous with there negative racist comments only shows me u are scared to say who u are because you are coward.. read your history AFRICAN AMERICANS have accomplished and invented many things that u use in your life today … god created us all equal but the devil made u feel u were greater .. you are no greater than your worst enemy!!!! I wish you all luck and i pray god will show u the truth!!!! if you have nothing good to say hold it … get an education because obviously by viewing some of these commenst u are uneducatedWE ARE ALL EQUAL color has nothing to do with anything .. !!

  10. Jan - northwest florida says :

    I’m a white southerner. I’ve donated money to save these children and will do whatever I can to help. I’ve always believed that if you see an injustice and do nothing; you are just as guilty as the perpetrators. Whether it is the use of ugly epithets or the more egregious actions of the Good Ole Boys of Jena, La.
    I’ve watched this case from early on and I know that there is more to it than the noose hanging and the one beating as portrayed on the news. Unfortunately, I know white people that have only seen the news. Would they feel the same if the Jena 6 were white boys? I’m offended that they speak of their “heritage”. If my heritage comes from the pain of others, they can keep it. Its nothing to be proud of. I’m ashamed that everyone doesn’t recognize that the punishment hasn’t fit the crime since the white kids hung the nooses. Its a hell of a stretch for a sneaker to be considered a deadly weapon.
    I couldn’t go to the peace rally on the 20th because I was afraid of what the white people would do to a white woman traveling alone to a civil rights rally. The more things change, the more they stay the same.
    My thoughts and prayers remain with these boys and their families.

  11. Toy Texas says :

    i had no ideal how prejustice LA could be, I think that it sick to have 6 boys arrested, and on top of that humilatied for protecting their race and theirselves. It’s really some kind of sick joke. I have a 3mnt baby and I do not want him growing up in such a horrible racial society, it will only get worse. I am African American but the least prejustice. I feel fair is fair and this is absoultley not fair. the Jena 6 has caught my eye so much and my heart and prayer’s go out to the families that’s dealing with this mess. This goes into History this is something that will never be forgotton. What’s the point of being racial when we bleed we all bleed “RED” so why act this way we are all equal just not equally treated and it is horrible, but we have to sit back and let the lord deal with this here, and he over rules any Judge anyday. I think that the courts are trying to make an example out of our Black Yound Men today, this is just awful isnt it enough just being the skin color that we are. Why are we treated so badly when all we want is a chance, you know bc they are afraid they we can do better than them and yes I am refering to WHITEs. I love my son and wouldnt regret him for a second I regret some of the people in the world and know that my son being a Black Man have to deal with mess like this. So to our Black Parents who are raising our Black Men. I urge you to take care of your son teach him right from wrong and inform him that the system only works one way and the the White way not the right. So urge your child to not give the system a reason to catch them up in this swamp of a world we call ourselves living in, teach them to honor all men and women regardless of race and set a goal to do something with your life so “WE” can sit back and laugh at the foolish. Again my hearts and prayers goes out to those who are ingrevance at this time, and special thanks to all of those whites and blacks who have helped donated funds to Michael Bell and to his mother you may never read this but your baby is coming home trust me just keep beleiving in the lord and it will happen.

    love you all including the Whites.

Leave a Reply

