SuperSpade Quick Notes Summary for 2008-08-27

  • #dnc08 Back blogging in the Big Tent. Great time connecting with @chrisrabb, @writewhatilike & others. #
  • #dnc08 at PDA panel listening to a special surprise address by John Conyers. #
  • #dnc08 @digitalsista: we don’t need to be as big as the big guys to change the conversation. #
  • #dnc08 “George Bush slid into first, and then he stole second.” – Ohio Governor Ted Strickland #
  • #dnc08 @iheartquotes Progressives are Liberals with more plans and less money. — Garlin II #
  • #dnc08 Can anyone share thoughts Devall Patrick as a Governor? I haven’t heard bad things & assume no news is good news. #
  • New post at The SuperSpade: A guide to watching the DNC Convention ( http://tinyurl.com/65usav ) #
  • New post at The SuperSpade: From Historical Moments to Historical Movements ( http://tinyurl.com/5o29u8 ) #
  • @Villager Let’s start looking for trailers. #
  • This Hillary Clinton video is actually good! Maybe she’d have had a shot if her commercials were more like this. #
  • Hillary Clinton is a proud supporter of Barack Obama! #
  • #dnc08 Hillary Clinton is a proud supporter of Barack Obama! Now the PUMAs can go back to their lairs & work to elect a Democratic President #
  • #dnc08 Hillary Clinton: “No way, no how, no McCain.” #
  • #dnc08 Hillary Clinton: “I ran for President to renew the promise of America.” #
  • #dnc08 Hillary Clinton: The reasons that she ran for are the reasons she supports Obama. #
  • Obama Assassination attempt was rooted in racism. What a surprise. http://www.thesmokinggun.com/archive/years/2008/0826082dnc1.html #
  • #dnc08 Hillary Clinton: “We need to get going by electing Barack Obama.” #
  • #dnc08 Hillary Clinton just made a hell of a speech. Unfortunately, she may have just reminded the PUMAs why the love her so much. #
  • @randomdeanna Nobody’s sleepin’. #
  • @karsh the TVOne convention coverage is a joke, flat out. #
  • @faboomama do you have a mainstream link for that? That site looks suspect. #
  • @ProfessorTracey Definitely. I actually reached out, and I know others that did too. Unfortunatley they weren’t in need of actual substance #
  • @randomdeanna It was pretty hard to find something disappointing in that speech. Those guys were reaching pretty far. #
  • @BWBConference be careful & prayerful #dnc08 #
  • #dnc08 Is is racist for a white person to refer to a Black person as ‘mulatto’? My cab driver kept saying it about Obama & it felt dirty. #
  • Was working on a post when I was given a credential to go to Convention floor. I’m on my way now to scope it out and take pictures. #
  • Just met Louis Gosset Jr. At the convention center. #dnc08 #
  • Just left Radio Row and ran into Thom Hartmann & Randi Rhodes, both of whome remembered me from Seattle #
  • Michael Baisden’s producer asked me if I’d come on their show. We’ll see what happens. He doesn’t know I don’t like them http://is.gd/1YFC #
  • Back at @bigtentdenver. Took lots of pics at the Pepsi Center being uploaded now. #
  • uggghhhhh, I left my camera cable in my suitcase this morning! 😦 #
  • anyone in @bigtentdenver have a camera USB cable for a Cannon Camera? #
  • #dnc08 Devall Patrick, Governor of MA, is learning to blog! #
  • Michigan just went 127 to 25 for Obama in the roll call. I’m glad my state has sense. #
  • Barack Obama’s sister is here in the Big Tent thanking bloggers for their “true grassroots work & support.” #
  • Barack Obama’s Sister @bigtentdenver: “Bloggers are utterly revolutionary agents of change.” #dnc08 #
  • Barack & Hillary are in the building. #
  • Hillary just gave her delegates to Barack Obama! It’s finally, finally OVER! #
  • …a PUMA cries in Denver… #
  • Just had a great convo with Michael Shaw of BAGnewsNotes.com. This is my new favorite website. #dnc08 #
  • This convention has a record number of female delegates and a record number of Black delegates. That’s something. #dnc08 #
  • New post at The SuperSpade: Michelle Obama Tries to Create an Era of Understanding ( http://tinyurl.com/64aonb ) #
About Garlin Gilchrist II

I am the City of Detroit's first ever Deputy Technology Director for Civic Community Engagement. My job is to open up the city's public data and information for the consumption and benefit of all Detroiters. I currently live in Detroit, my hometown, with my beautiful wife Ellen and our twins Garlin III and Emily Grace. I'm from Detroit. I created Detroit Diaspora, and was formerly the National Campaign Director at MoveOn.org. I also co-hosted The #WinReport on "The Good Fight," a an award winning, nationally syndicated radio show that was one of Apple's Best of 2013. After graduating with degrees in Computer Engineering and Computer Science from the University of Michigan, I became a Software Engineer at Microsoft. By day, I helped build SharePoint into the fastest growth product in the company's history. On my personal time, I sought out opportunities to connect my technical skills with community building efforts across the country. This led to my co-founding The SuperSpade: Black Thought at the Highest Level, a leading Black political blog. I served as Social Media Manager for the 2008 Obama campaign in Washington, and then became Director of New Media at the Center for Community Change. I spent two years creating and implementing a strategy for the Center to take it's 40 years of community organizing experience into the digital age. I speak before diverse audiences on effective & responsive government, empowerment in revolutionary new organizing spaces, increasing civic engagement & participation through emerging technologies and protecting civil rights in the age of the Internet. Full bio here.

Leave a Reply

