Top ten take aways from the Biden/Palin debate

  1. Palin actually said that she wanted to expand the powers of the Vice President. After Cheney, that is in a word…scary.
  2. I choked up when Biden talked about not knowing if your kid is going to make it, only to have Sarah go into a McCain talking point. I understand trying to change the conversation but damn.
  3. I understand the back and forth between candidates and the media but Palin’s insistence on not answering questions reached a level or rudeness I haven’t seen in a long time. Answer the question! And I didn’t appreciate Palin’s snub of Ifill, show some respect.
  4. Palin did not answer any question pertaining McCain’s push for deregulation and opted to talk about taxes when it didn’t even come up.
  5. Joe Biden is smart. Take that back, really smart. Why is being smart so disdained in American politics?
  6. I don’t know what Palin would do without talking points. Chris Matthews said (and I agree) that Palin sounded like she was at a spelling bee; say the word, spell the word, say the word again.
  7. Biden is a fighter and Obama should go directly at McCain’s image as a maverick.
  8. You can actually win a debate by not looking dumb? And why were follow up questions disallowed?
  9. Why are you winking? I am sorry, why are you winking multiple times? I would never appreciate someone I work with who winked.
  10. Umm… if McSame voted with Bush 90% of the time then the past definitely matters. This means McSame can’t disown the Bush legacy. In the words of Jay-Z, “We don’t believe you, you need more people!

UPDATE:

No you can’t call me Joe!!! I am a Senator and you will address me as Senator Biden. I will address you as Governor Palin.

Palin’s suit was sharp.

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Top ten take aways from the Biden/Palin debate”

  1. leenda says :

    Great take on the debate, especially the disrespect Gov. Palin showed for Sen. Biden, Ms. Ifel. and Sen. Obama. Every time she called him “Barack”, I wanted to throw something at the television. As you point out, respect should be shown to the achievements people have made, especially in a formal setting. Sen. Biden never called her Sarah, he always called her “Gov, Palin”.

    I liked that Sen. Biden didn’t let her own the middle class or parenthood. I think that was a genuine win for him.

    Pundits are calling it a draw, but I don’t think so. When the sun comes up in the morning, the mainstream media Gov. Palin was so pleased to be away from will have fact-checked the heck out of her claims. I think this was a win for Sen. Biden & the Democrats.

  2. Neen says :

    Anyone catch the “Senator Obiden” slip-up?

    No? Just me?

    Okay.

  3. petesky says :

    No, I caught the Obiden slip, too. Or, I thought, O’Biden.
    Also, what was the bit about General McClellan. Please forgive my ignorance if we have a current Gen. McClellan. The only one I know about is the Civil War general (who, by the way, was remarkably insubordinate and disrespectful towards his Commander in Chief, I guy named Lincoln.)

  4. Brandon Q. says :

    I didn’t catch the OBiden slip but who said it? Also, the Gen McClellan was a gaffe too.

    This was a clear win for Biden I think. The media has an interest in making this close to make sure each debate is closely monitored.

    And Biden’s story about having to find work in Wilmington and having to send for his wife was….real. Who would have thought a politician could give you “straight talk” you could relate to?

  5. mainecoast says :

    Palin not only asked Biden to call him Joe, but during the debate, she did call him Senator Biden and ALWAYS Obama. NEVER Senator Obama. He mostly called him Senator McCain.

    Talk about demeaning and disrespectful.

    Oh and don’t kid yourself. She’s running for president. She will let doddering McCain pretend to be while she expands her powers as VP (huh?)

    Vote for McCain and Palin
    “And vote for dumbing down America”

  6. mainecoast says :

    Palin

    Dumb is the New Black

  7. movie fan says :

    the VP debate was stunning. Palin did a decent job faking about 20% of the questions and didn’t even bother answering the other 80%.

    i couldn’t help thinking of the end of the movie Billy Madison, when the debate moderator says to Adam Sandler, “Mr. Madison, what you’ve just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.”

  8. mainecoast says :

    I prefer Green is the New Black myself, but that would mean that I believed the climate crisis is man made. Psshaw.

  9. Tyler says :

    Nice! I actually felt that Palin’s not so artful avoidance of the question actually hung her. That is, until the pundits/media began their predictable “it was a tie” bullshit. I think if people could draw their own conclusions without commentary, it would have been the end of her. It was just rude, you are right.

Leave a Reply

